How to Become a Bounty Hunter in Mississippi
To become a bounty hunter in Mississippi, you must first apply for a license and then seek employment from a bail bond company. Acquiring a license in Mississippi entails some education and training. You can, however, gain knowledge about state bail law in the process and skip tracing skills essential to safe and effective bail enforcement.
Bounty Hunting in Mississippi
Mississippi is one of the states with laws having specific provision on bounty hunters. As a fugitive tracker in Mississippi, you are vested some authority to arrest, to request assistance from law enforcement and access to jails or detention facilities for the purposes stipulated in the state statutes. These privileges, however, come with extensive licensing requirements.
Compared to other states, Mississippi has more specific definitions for each worker in the bail bond business including the professional bail agent (bondsman), soliciting bail agent, bail enforcement agent (bounty hunter) and limited and personal surety agent.
Moreover, licenses are only granted to individuals who are not also law enforcement, judicial official and attorneys. The state does not license firms, partnerships associations or corporations as far as bounty hunting is concerned.
Become a Bounty Hunter in Mississippi
To become a bounty hunter in Mississippi, you first need to gather proof that you are at least 21 years old, have been living in the state for at least 1 year, are of good moral character and that you do not have prior felony convictions.
After that, you should complete the required 8 hours of prelicensing education approved by the Insurance Department and the Professional Bail Agents association of Mississippi, Inc.. You should take the prelicensing education only from Mississippi Judicial College, a community college or any recognized institution of higher learning in the state. Some recognized institutions offer the prelicense education for 40 hours and only when applicants are able to finish the 40-hour requirement that they receive a certificate of completion.
As a skip tracer, the Insurance Department may grant you a license without the prelicensing education provided you will complete the required 8 hours of study on its first available offering. Aside from this, another 8 hours of continuing education is required yearly for license renewal.
Lastly, you should complete an application form, submit it to the Insurance Department and pay $40 for the license. If you move to a new bail bond company before your license expires, you need to reapply and pay for the license again.
If you want to improve your job prospects, it is recommended that you work toward an associates or bachelors degree in criminal justice or related field. You may also read the Bail Mississippi manual, which tackles topics like requirements for accepting bail and bond jumping and forfeitures. Knowledge on this matter will be essential in your bounty hunting assignments.
Mississippi Bounty Hunter Licenses and Requirements
As a Mississippi bounty hunter, you are required to secure a license from the Insurance Department and follow a number of requirements including proof of residency, required age and annual 8 hours of continuing education for license renewal. Bounty hunter license expires every last day of May.