How to Become a Bounty Hunter in Nevada
Bounty hunters in Nevada are referred to as bail enforcement agents. You must be at least 21 years old, a United States citizen, have a high school diploma or GED, undergo the extensive training and pass an examination in order to obtain a bail enforcement agent license within 9 months of the initial date of employment by a bail agent.
The laws that govern what bounty hunters can and do vary from state to state. In Nevada, a bail enforcement agent has the authority to make an arrest without the authorization of the local law enforcement agency. They are, however, required, to notify the authorities in advance before making any forcible entry into a private residence. Fugitive recovery activities such as skip tracing are legal in Nevada. Bounty hunters in Nevada are authorized to carry firearms after training and with the proper permits.
Some states do not grant bounty hunting licenses to persons with criminal records. While it is possible to become a fugitive tracker in Nevada with a criminal record, it is required that you have never been convicted of a felony or crimes involving a controlled substance or moral turpitude.
The first step in becoming a bounty hunter in Nevada is to pass the educational and training requirements in order to obtain a bail enforcement license. The College of Southern Nevada provides training courses for bail enforcement agents. Educational and training requirements can be waved if the applicant can provide proof of qualifying training already completed. Peace officers, such as law enforcement and armed forces officers, can be exempted from training.
While not required, completing a degree is highly recommended before starting as a bounty hunter in Nevada. A degree in criminal justice, sociology or public administration will give you a better grasp on the motivations and tendencies of the fugitives you are assigned to capture.
After meeting the educational and training requirements, you must take a written examination that is provided by the commissioner of the Nevada Division of Insurance. Upon completing the written exam, it is required that you be fingerprinted, pass a background check, undergo a psychological examination and have an administered drug test no earlier than 30 days before submitting your full application.
All bail enforcement agents in Nevada are licensed by the Nevada Division of Insurance. Licensing is legally required. You must apply for a license through the Nevada Division of Insurance. In order to obtain a license to become a fugitive tracker in Nevada you must first complete the required minimum 80 hours of training and pass all examinations. The initial application fee for licensure is $78.