How to Become a Bounty Hunter in South Carolina
Bounty hunters in South Carolina are referred to as runners. In order to work as a runner, you must be at least 18 years old, be a South Carolina resident, have no felony convictions within the past 10 years, obtain a bounty hunter certificate after undergoing approved training and passing an exam.
All surety recovery agents in South Carolina are licensed by the South Carolina Department of Insurance. Licensing is legally required. You must apply for a certificate through the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
After certification, surety recovery agents in South Carolina may only work for 1 bail bond company at a time. In South Carolina, your initial application for licensure in bounty hunting must be endorsed by a bail enforcement company.
Runners in South Carolina are granted the authority to issue bail bonds on behalf of their bail enforcement company after obtaining Power of Attorney from the Department of Insurance to do so.
While it is possible to become a fugitive tracker in South Carolina with a criminal record, it is required that you have never been convicted of a felony or a crime involving “moral turpitude” 10 years prior to applying for certification.
If you have been convicted of a crime, the South Carolina Department of Insurance requires that you provide a written statement and copies of your court documents that exhibit the disposition of the crimes committed with your application. You must also provide a Certified Criminal History Background Check from the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division with your application for licensure.
The first step in becoming a bounty hunter in South Carolina is to pass the educational and training requirements. You must complete 20 hours of training in a pre-licensing course that has been approved by the South Carolina Bail Agents Association. Although not required, earning a criminal justice degree is recommended before pursuing a career as a bounty hunter. Other degree options include sociology and psychology, which are useful in understanding the actions and tendencies of the criminals you are assigned to apprehend.
After meeting the educational requirements, you are required to pass an examination that is administered by Prometric. There is a fee for the exam, and there is no limit to the number of times you can take the test. Upon completion of the examination, you must obtain the endorsement of a bail bonds issuing company in South Carolina. This endorsement must be submitted with your application along with the documentation of your background check and fingerprinting.
To summarize, in order to obtain a certificate to become a fugitive tracker in South Carolina you must first complete the 20 hours of training, pass the examination and background check, undergo fingerprinting and obtain the endorsement of a bail bond issuing company. To be eligible for licensing you must be 18 years old and a South Carolina state resident with no felony convictions within the past 10 years. The application fee for licensure is $200.